Edwards Aquifer Authority



900 E. Quincy San Antonio, TX 78215 EdwardsAquifer.org

Meeting Minutes

Board of Directors

Tuesday, August 8, 2017 2:00 PM EAA Board Room

A. Call to Order - Roll Call.

Chairman Buckner called the meeting to order at 2:05 p.m.

Present: 7 - Director Amy Akers, Chairman Luana Buckner, Director Rebekah Bustamante, Treasurer Ron Ellis, Director Don Laffere, Director Pat Stroka, and Director Ron Walton

Absent: 1 - Director Clark Ward

Present: 9 - Director Deborah Carington, Director Rader Gilleland, Director Kathleen Krueger, Director Gary Middleton, Treasurer Byron Miller, Director Carol Patterson, Chair Enrique Valdivia, Director Scott Yanta and Secretary Ben Youngblood

B. Public comment.

There were no citizens who requested to address the board.

C. Director Appointments

C.1 Receive report from EAA staff on director application process.

Chairman Buckner invited former directors, Mr. Craig Massouh and Ms. Susan Hughes, to address the board.

Mr. Massouh addressed the board regarding his departure from the board, and Ms. Hughes addressed the board regarding her departure from the board.

Mr. Roland Ruiz, General Manager, briefed the board regarding the process of filling the vacant director positions for District 6 (Bexar County) and District 8 (Comal County), formerly held by Susan Hughes and Craig Massouh.

This staff report was presented.

Consider accepting the resignation of Director Susan Hughes and declaring the vacancy of EAA Director District 6 in Bexar County.

A motion was made by Director Laffere, and seconded by Treasurer Ellis, the board accept the resignation of Director Susan Hughes and declare the vacancy of Edwards Aquifer Authority Director District 6 in Bexar County. The motion passed viva voce.

C.2

C.3 Consider accepting the resignation of Director Craig Massouh and declaring the vacancy of EAA Director District 8 in Comal County.

A motion was made by Director Stroka, and seconded by Vice-Chairman Youngblood, the board accept the resignation of Director Craig Massouh and declare the vacancy of Edwards Aquifer Authority Director District 8 in Comal County. The motion passed viva voce.

C.4 Interview, select and appoint candidates to fill the unexpired terms for EAA Director District 6, and EAA Director District 8.

A motion was made by Treasurer Ellis, seconded by Director Laffere, the board appoint Ms. Deborah Baker Carington to fill the unexpired term for the vacant Director - District 6 position on the EAA Board of Directors; and the board appoint Ms. Kathleen Tobin Krueger to fill the unexpired term for the vacant Director - District 8 position on the EAA Board of Directors. The motion passed viva voce.

Administer oath of office to the new EAA Director District 6, Bexar County; and the new EAA Director District 8, Comal County.

Chairman Luana Buckner administered the oath of office to the new Director - District 6, Bexar County; and the new Director - District 8, Comal County.

D. Adjournment.

C.5

There being no further business to discuss, the meeting adjourned at 2:41 p.m.

Enrique P. Valdivia Secretary, Board of Directors

Jennifer Wong-Esparza Assistant to Board Secretary